Staging Area
Geology Explorer Logo Acknowledgments

The following have contributed to the development of the Geology Explorer in some capacity or other.

  • Dr. Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat, Geosciences, NDSU
  • Dr. Donald Schwert, Geosciences, NDSU
  • Dr. Brian M. Slator, Computer Science, NDSU
  • Dr. Paul Juell, Computer Science, NDSU
  • Dr. Phil McClean, Plant Sciences, NDSU
  • Dr. Alan White, Botany/Biology, NDSU
  • Dr. Richard Beckwith, Intel Corp.
  • Harold Henry Chaput, Computer Science, UT-Austin
  • Dr. Clark Markell, Earth Science, MSU
  • Dr. Rose McKenney, Earth Science, MSU
  • Acey Olson (Rendered Landscapes)
  • Rebecca Potter (Rendered Images, Icons, and Landscapes)
  • Dan Reetz (Graphic and Audio Artist)
  • Dr. Don Schwert (Landscape Photographs)
  • Shannon Tomac (Landscapes, Icons, Images, & Comic Book)
  • Daniel Turany (Rock/Mineral Photographs)
  • Nem Schlecht
  • Mark Tinguely
  • Under Construction Graduate Research Assistants:
    • Otto Borchert; Software tutors, Java client development
    • Bob Cosmano; Makes Java Go, Moral Support
    • Krista Dauner; Tutoring Scripts
    • Rahul Devabhaktuni; Hydrology (Water) on Oit
    • Kuo-Di Jian; Java Tool Integration
    • Yongxin "George" Jia; Java/LambdaMOO Hierarchy Tool
    • Guy Hokanson; Software tutors, dynamic HTML
    • Bhaskar Marthi; Instrument verbs
    • Vidyalatha Nagareddy; Java/LambdaMOO Entity Tool
    • Aparna Nandula; Geo-Physics Simulation
    • Shanhong Wu; Java3D

  • Under Construction Undergraduate Research and Independent Study Students:
    • Bryan Bandli; Assessment and Evaluation
    • John Bauer; Java Client (GUMI-bare and GUMI-game) Design and Implementation, Graphical Directive Protocol
    • Chris Fish; Endgame Design and Implementation
    • Julia Karst-Gray; Geologic & Quality evaluation
    • Lucas Koehntop; Java consulting
    • Ned Kruger; Assessment and Evaluation
    • Acey Olson; Bryce Landscapes, Tutoring, Player History, Interface Design
    • Aric Olsen: Geologic & Quality evaluation, Content Quality Control
    • Carson Rittel; Content Quality Control, Help Database
    • Jennifer Thorstad: Geologic & Quality evaluation, Content Quality Control
    • Susan Sattler; Educational Content
    • Joy Turnbull; Content Quality Control, Help Database
    • Brad Vender; MOO-side HTML server
    • Dean Vestal; Content Quality Control, Help Database, Interface Design
    • Mindy Sue Vogel; Geologic & Quality evaluation, Alternative exercises
    • Karen Cassie Curtis Vorthmann; Geologic & Quality evaluation, Alternative exercises
    • Jane Willenbring; Assessment and Evaluation

  • The 1997-1998 faculty/student research group (co-authors on the SCCS-98 paper)
    • Brian M. Slator, Donald Schwert*, Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat*, Phil McClean**, Jon Abel, John Bauer, Brian Gietzen, Nathan Green, Yongxin "George" Jia, Tammy Kavli, Lucas Koehntop, Bhaskar Marthi, Vidyalatha Nagareddy, Acey Olson, Kishore Peravali, Daniel Turany, Brad Vender, James Walsh
      Computer Science, Geosciences*, Plant Science** Departments, North Dakota State University

  • The students of CS372 (Summer 1997):
    • Scott Aagard, Elson Abraham, Brian Allrich, John Bauer, Tonia Brezina, Michele Chown, Murali Dhandapani, Michael Dunkle, Brent Ellingson, Chad Elliott, Bryan Fugere, Nathan Green, Syed Habibullah, Jeffrey Haugen, Robert Hoffman, Jim John, Beau Kautzman, Lucas Koehntop, Shane Kullman, Jason Lagge, Bhaskar Marthi, Debra Meyers, Rupa Mitra, Prashanth Mylvarabatla, Vidyalatha Nagareddy, Curtis Ophoven, Xiaofeng Pan, Kishore Pervali, Mingbo Qin, Silvia Salas, Darin Schmitz, Samuel Silverthorn, Brian Stroot, David Teigland, Daniel Turany, Daniel Ward, Yue Yun.
  • 2001 U.S. Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education (FIPSE) P116B01-1528: A virtual world to train future earth scientists. (Schwert, Slator, and Saini-Eidukat). $270,203. 3 years. (Oct. 1, 2001 - Sept. 30, 2004).

  • 2000-2005 National Science Foundation (NSF-ITR) No. EIA-0086142 to Dr. Brian M. Slator, PI, Dr. Phil McClean, Dr. Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat, Dr. Donald Schwert, Dr. Alan White. Systems for Learning Science and Assessing Student Learning; 5 years, $1.94 Million.

  • 2000-2002 ND-EPSCoR, IIP Seed Grant Award, Intelligent Tutoring Using Case-based Reasoning. Dr. Brian M. Slator, PI, $10,000 for 1 year (renewable for 1 additional year).

  • 2000-2002 National Science Foundation (DUE-CCLI) No. DUE-9981094 to Dr. Brian M. Slator, PI, Dr. Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat, and Dr. Don Schwert. New Directions in Virtual Geoscience Education; 23 months, $74,192.

  • 1999 ND-EPSCoR, Phase 0 (TRIC) Award. Dr. Donald Schwert, PI, Dr. Brian M. Slator and Dr. Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat, Co-PIs, $3,500 for 6 months (through NSF grant No. EPS-9874802).

  • 1998-1999 Undergraduate Research Salary Support, College of Science and Mathematics, Kevin McCaul, Dean and NDSU Computer Science Department, Ken Nygard, Chair, $3,700 for 9 months.

  • 1998-2000 National Science Foundation (GEO-ED) No. EAR-9809761 to Dr. Brian M. Slator, PI, Dr. Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat, and Dr. Don Schwert. Learning by Doing Physical Geology in a Virtual Laboratory/Virtual Field Trip Computer Environment; 1 year, $49,981, plus 1-year no-cost extension.

  • 1998 North Dakota State University, Faculty Development Committee, No. 3522-6010, to Dr. Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat, PI, Dr. Don Schwert, and Dr. Brian M. Slator. Planet Oit: Virtual Laboratory for Physical Geology; 6 months, $2,500.
  • "Colonel" Dave Schmidt; for the name: Planet Oit ©

  Major support provided by:
  • The National Science Foundation (NSF)
  • DoEd
  • The U.S. Department of Education (FIPSE)

  • This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. ESI-0454767. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

    Comments, Questions, Problems?
    Send a message to: mooadmin@oit.cs.ndsu.nodak.edu
    For more information about this and other related projects, visit
    WWWIC, the NDSU World Wide Web Instructional Committee.
      Copyright © 1997, 2010 World Wide Web Instructional Committee